ARGO And DJANGO UNCHAINED Win 1st Annual Screenwriters Choice Awards Winners

Ben Affleck - Argo

I’ve received this press release from Final Draft announcing the winners’ from last night’s 1st annual Screenwriters Choice awards, ARGO and DJANGO UNCHAINED took top prize for feature category.
Check out the list below!..

February 8, 2013


Lawrence Kasdan Also Received Hall of Fame Award in
Ceremony Hosted By Jay Mohr

BEVERLY HILLS, CA — Final Draft, Inc., the industry standard for screenwriting software, is proud to announce the winners of the 1st Annual Screenwriters Choice Awards™ that were held last night at the Paley Center for Media in Beverly Hills. Comedian and actor Jay Mohr hosted the invitation-only event that also presented industry icon Lawrence Kasdan with the Hall of Fame Award.

On hand to present the awards were Final Draft, Inc. CEO, President and Co-Founder Marc Madnick, Simon Kinberg (X-Men: First Class), Ed Saxon (Away We Go), Aline Brosh McKenna (The Devil Wears Prada) and Larry Karazsewski (The People vs. Larry Flynt). The winners were:

Best Original Screenplay:
Django Unchained – accepted by Reginald Hudlin, producer
Best Adapted Screenplay:
Argo – accepted by Actress Kerry Bishé (Argo)
Best Television Comedy:
Modern Family – accepted by Writer Danny Zuker
Best Television Drama:
Breaking Bad – accepted by series creator Vincent Gilligan

The Screenwriters Choice Awards nominees were chosen by a blue ribbon, industry-led committee who submitted their picks for the four mentioned categories. The top ten nominations from each category were then submitted to Final Draft™ registered users, resulting in final five nominees in each category.

In addition to the Screenwriters Choice Awards, Final Draft, Inc. inducted legendary writer, producer and director Lawrence Kasdan into its Hall of Fame. Fellow screenwriter Ted Griffin (Ocean’s Eleven, Terriers), along with Simon Kinberg, Aline Brosh McKenna and surprise guest John Hancock (The Blind Side), gave moving tributes to Kasdan and presented him with the Hall of Fame Award. Kasdan has written or co-written four of the most successful films in motion picture history — Raiders of The Lost Ark, The Empire Strikes Back, Return of The Jedi and The Bodyguard. He is also credited with the classic films Body Heat, The Big Chill, Silverado, The Accidental Tourist, and Grand Canyon, among others. Past Hall of Fame Award winners include Aaron Sorkin, Steve Zaillian, Oliver Stone, Syd Field, Robert Towne, and the late Stephen J. Cannell and Sydney Pollack.

Final Draft, Inc. also named the top three winners from the 11th annual Big Break™ International Screenwriting Contest. The Big Break Contest supports emerging creative talent and reinforces the Final Draft, Inc. mission to advance and provide industry access to writers around the world. The Big Break Contest rewards screenwriters with over $30,000 in cash and prizes plus entrée to A-list executive meetings. Past winners and finalists have secured high-profile representation as well as lucrative writing deals, and have had their screenplays optioned and produced.

The winners were:

1st Place – Craig Houchin from Sunland, CA
Ludlow (Drama)

2nd Place – A. Rouveyrol from Glendale, CA
Life Copy (Sci-fi)

3rd Place – Matthew Snyman from Watford, UK
The Whaler’s Daughter (Drama)

About Final Draft, Inc.
Final Draft, Inc. is the industry standard format for written on-screen content and has provided the entertainment community with the best and most utilized professional screenwriting software available for more than 20 years. Final Draft, Inc. continues to adapt its proprietary software to meet the needs of Hollywood and beyond, assuring the consistency and compatibility of their products across any operating system. The countless television shows written in Final Draft Inc. format include such standouts as: Law & Order, Entourage, Desperate Housewives, Breaking Bad, and Mad Men. Likewise, many of the most successful feature films are the result of scripts written with Final Draft screenwriting software, including: Transformers, The Wrestler, Milk, The Dark Knight, and any of the Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and the most recent Pirates of the Caribbean. Final Draft, Inc. is the recipient of a Golden Satellite Award from the International Press Academy in 2000 for Best Interactive Product. The company was also presented the WriteMovies Award for Technical Achievement.

Like us on Facebook

Tags: ,